Some Changes Be A-comin’ & Other News

phantom2btollbooth

I must remind myself, yet again, that the deadlines I give myself must be multiplied by a factor of 3 in regards to time. ūüė¶ ¬†I also must remember that I am not in a race to publish, and that I need to stop it with those deadlines. ¬†I am just so frustrated that I seem always too far away from where I want to be. ¬†Editing seems to have me in a Norman Juster-esque geographical oddity.

In preparation for the upcoming release of my book, I need to reorganize some things on my site and do other things.

First, I have noticed almost zero traffic to my Library and Studio¬†pages, so I guess it’s time to pull them down. ¬†That doesn’t mean that the content is going to go away completely. ¬†Instead, I am going to spend some time, once I can take my focus off the editing grind, and work on finishing the timeline and atlas of Akiniwazi for future giveaways. ¬†So if you liked it in the future, but have not signed up or jumped on the mailing list, it will become available again for those who desire it again.

Second, I have been plotting book 2 in the background (Book 3 is ostensibly written, but had to be pushed back one novel because I had points and characters from the first book that originally got nothing in what had previously been written.) and have come to a major hook to string all these neat scenes in my head together. ¬†It is under the working title, for my own sanity, of “Finnsoga”, since the 3rd book is technically Reimarsoga: book 2.

Third, I will be re-titling the whole shebang once I get closer to publication and will be putting up a poll for people to vote on titles, preferably before I go to the artist for a cover, so expect that soon.

On a positive note, even if things go completely cattywampus and I can’t get book one out as soon as I hoped, there is still the chance of 2-3 books coming out in 2017. ¬†I am going to be refining my editing process as mentioned in the past, and well, live and learn I guess. ¬†I know I can get the drafts out there, but my issue has been getting edits done quickly. ¬†My hope is that what I am about to set up for book 2 could shave 2-3 months off of how long it’s taking. ¬†(remember, the original manuscript for book 1 was finished in May, but the major structural rewrite wasn’t done till Sept. ¬†Something I’ll never have to do again I hope.)

So as you can see, things are moving forward.  Just not at the pace I want.

Then again, has it ever?

Leave a Reply

